Uncategorized

Review in Journal of Asian Studies published

I wish I could say it was a review of my excellent forthcoming book, but since I’m still finishing the dissertation, this will have to suffice: a review essay written by myself of two truly excellent new titles in Cambodian studies. The first reviewed is Penny Edwards’ Cambodge: the cultivation of a nation, 1860-1945. The second is Anne Ruth Hansen’s How to behave: Buddhism and modernity in colonial Cambodia, 1860-1930. Both are published out of University of Hawai’i’s excellent press series on “Southeast Asia: Politics, Meaning and Memory,” edited by Rita Smith Kipp and David P. Chandler.

Go, buy and read.

Standard

3 thoughts on “Review in Journal of Asian Studies published

  1. Thanks for the tip. Hansen’s “How to Behave” looks amazing. I just found your blog, and I’m browsing around, looking for more of your death ideas and how they intersect with Buddhist beliefs and practice.

Leave a Reply

