Uncategorized

other-mothers on the radio

This episode of RadioLab – in fact, just the beginning of it – has done the nearly impossible – grabbed my full attention.

I’ve written a lot about mothers – in addition to normal, loving mothers, I’ve written about mothers who abandon their children, dead mothers who want their children to join them, &c.

So in this episode’s opening story, in which DNA testing appears to prove that a woman who gave birth to her children is not their mother, grabbed me. Then a doctor asked her this question:

One doctor asked me, ‘Do you think you have two souls?’

I’ll leave you to listen and find out how these facts/quotes work together. It’s amazing.

Standard

Leave a Reply

